Welcome to Arkansas State University!

These scholarships and programs are supported exclusively by alumni, students, faculty, and friends of the department. Applications can be completed by clicking on the scholarship title below, or picked up in the history department office, HSS 4007. Submit completed applications and supporting documentation to Aiqun Hu, Ph.D.as an email attachment aiqunhu@astate.edu, or by delivering it to HSS 4017 or 4007.


Established in 1977 in honor of Durward F. Cooper (1904-1976) and Homer C. Huitt (1899-1967). Mr. Cooper was a member of the Department of History from 1946 until his retirement in 1972; Dr. Huitt served Arkansas State University from 1937 to 1965. The Cooper-Huitt Memorial Scholarship is awarded each year to a History or Social Science major who has completed at least 60 semester hours (17 of which must be on the ASU, Jonesboro campus), with a 3.25 or higher grade-point average.


Established in 1987 in memory of Fairy Conlee Gillespie (1926-1987), a long-time student and friend of the Department of History and actively involved in the cultural and intellectual life of the University. The Fairy Gillespie Memorial Scholarship provides partial tuition expenses for students pursuing a B.A. in History. Selection will be based on scholarship (as reflected by academic performance), aptitude (as indicated by ACT, SAT or other standardized test scores), and by an enthusiasm for History (as indicated by extracurricular activities related to this field).


Established in 2002 in honor of Dr. C. Calvin Smith, a member of the History Department from 1970 until his retirement in 2002. This award benefits an African-American student pursuing a BSE in Social Science who has achieved at least sophomore status with a 2.75 overall grade point average.


Established in 1989 in memory of Janna Sue Lambert (1936-1989), a long-time friend of the Department of History and wife of Dr. C. Roger Lambert, former department chair. She was especially active in the Faculty Women’s Association, the League of Women Voters, and the Presbyterian Church. The Janna Lambert Scholarship provides a yearly scholarship to an outstanding M.A. or M.S.E. student in History or Social Science. The recipient must have at least 12 graduate hours at the time of application and a 3.50 grade point average.

McFarland Academic Freedom Scholarship

Established by Drs. C.K. and Linda McFarland, who served as faculty members in the ASU Department of History. Dr. C.K. McFarland completed 11 years as department Chair in 1982, then held a joint appointment as Professor of History and Management (Industrial Relations) until his retirement in 1997. The award is given to a full-time junior, senior or graduate student majoring in any degree program with an overall 3.0 grade point average. A student can only receive the award once. Completed applications should be submitted by mail to AAUP Scholarship Committee, P.O. Box 1423, State University, AR 72467.


Established in honor of John A. Galloway (1919-1997) who served the University from 1948 until his retirement in 1984. Dr. Galloway was a founder of the graduate program in History and Social Science and is best remembered for his role as graduate adviser. The John A. Galloway Graduate Award is given annually to an outstanding MA or MSE student based on grade point average and contribution to the History Department. Chosen by the Graduate Faculty.


Awards are given annually to an outstanding BA student and to an outstanding BSE student based on grade point average and contribution to the History Department. Chosen by the Faculty.